Welcome to Washburn Public Schools

First Lady Michelle Obama Planted White House Kitchen Garden with our Washburn Elementary Students!

The White House– The First Lady welcomed students from across the country as well as NASA representatives to plant the White House Kitchen Garden for the eighth year in a row, and final time as First Lady. In 2009, Mrs. Obama planted a vegetable garden on the South Lawn to initiate a national conversation around the health and wellbeing of our nation—a conversation that evolved into her Let’s Move! initiative.

Mrs. Obama was be joined by students that have inspiring school garden programs from Wisconsin, Colorado, and Louisiana as well as two Washington D.C. schools.  Washburn Elementary was selected as one of five schools to participate. 

In addition, NASA Deputy Administrator Dava Newman and Astronaut Cady Coleman joined Mrs. Obama and the students to plant the same variety of lettuce that has been grown on the International Space Station.

Representatives from the 4th and 5th grade at Washburn Elementary and two elementary teachers made the all expense paid trip to Washington D.C. to help Mrs. Obama on Tuesday, April 5th.

In a press release showcasing the project, the following paragraph was written about the Washsburn school garden program. 

Washburn School Garden Program – Washburn, Wisconsin

The mission of the Washburn School Garden Program is to cultivate environmental stewardship, foster human health, and develop ecological sustainability. The Washburn School District currently maintains a 6,400 square foot school garden and small orchard. Elementary grades each have a section of the garden to maintain throughout the year, and the middle school and high school have classes that use the garden extensively, culminating in an Agriprenuer program. Much of the food grown is used in the school food service, with additional food sold to the community. 

Whole White House Press Release

Washburn High School Recognized as a 2015 National 
Blue Ribbon School!
(click here for more info.)


Washburn Public School 
Board Members:

 Christina Sauer - Board President ~ csauer@washburn.k12.wi.us 
Roxanne Shuga- Vice President ~ roxanne.shuga@washburn.k12.wi.us
Richard Avol - Clerk  ~ peruse@chequamegonbooks.com
Colleen Geisen- Treasurer  ~ cgeisen@washburn.k12.wi.us
JoAnne Katzmarek- Board Member at Large

To mail all the school board members use schoolboard@washburn.k12.wi.us

Our mission is to enable students to enter the global society with the knowledge, skills, habits, and attitudes required to be contributing citizens.



Order your own mini monarch oasis and support the Washburn H.S. Ecology Club. 
Order now and pick up in May

CLICK for more info.


Memorial Medical Center
Blood Drive

April 28th: 9:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Register in the Conference Room located next to the high school office. 
Walk-ins welcome.



 The regular open enrollment application period for the 2016-17 school year begins on February 1, 2016, and ends at 4:00 pm on April 29, 2016. The best way to apply is online (a link to the online application is at the top of this page during the application period).  Additional information on the regular open enrollment application season can be found on our applications page

DPI Open Enrollment Information
Application for Open Enrollment
Open Enrollment DPI Brochure (pdf)

 WITC Promises FREE Tuition for area High School Graduates

The WITC Promise Scholarship will pay the balance of tuition and fees for eligible students after federal and state grants are applied. Tuition will be covered up to four terms (pending eligibility requirements each term).

 "The WITC Foundation Board is pleased to support and fund this important college initiative. We know the college's graduates are in high demand and the WITC Promise will give the opportunity to more individuals to attend WITC who otherwise might not have been able to afford to enroll,” said Charlie Singler, WITC Foundation Board President. (Link here for the flyer)

Food Service Notice for Free/Reduced Lunches for 2015-16 School Year

Child Find Public Notice
Homeless Information
Other Public Notices



Washburn School District
Child Wellness Day &
Developmental Screening

For all children ages birth to
5 years of age who reside
in the Washburn School District

Wednesday, April 13th
4:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Washburn Elementary School
Come and enjoy a "Fun Filled" evening where your child can play and explore many great educational activities.
more info